Those who can, do. Those who can’t….

TEACH!

At this crossroads in my musical training between student and professional, I have found my hyper-organized and scheduled life as a student to be tossed aside as a more free form juggling of 3 jobs (4 including performing) arises. In all this upheaval, the thing I am enjoying the most is teaching. In this, my methodical and overly-specific attention to detail comes in handy and allows me to assist others. Over my vocal career, I’ve encountered every possible vocal roadblock: from tight jaw, to too much breath, to not enough breath, to tight tongue, to overly-raised soft palate, to too low soft palate. I have run the gamut on vocal difficulties. Needless to say, swinging on the pendulum from one vocal evil to another has been frustrating and overwhelming for me as a performer. However, this means that, as a teacher, I know how to fix all of these problems because I’ve actually experienced them all first hand. The best teachers are usually not those who came by their talent naturally with little struggle or difficulty. Instead, the best teachers are those who fought their way to the top, pushing and shoving and attacking every problem head on.

Perhaps my favorite thing about teaching is the fact that I can help people, not just with vocal production, but with living healthier lives. My training in yoga and Alexander Technique allows me to assist my students in obtaining a healthier and more flexible posture. If you compare 80-year-olds who had no vocal training with those who have, you’ll see a marked difference in their bone density, breathing capability, and ability to stand up straight. Most of us do not realize it, but stress, tensions, and society’s tendency to prefer tightened, sucked in stomachs over free and easy breathing really take their toll on your bones, tendons, and muscles as you age. A greater body awareness and a return to your natural posture and alignment can help to reverse the damage. We all use our vocal cords on a regular basis…. some of us talking nonstop from sunrise to sunset. But, most of us do not think about how we breath or how we phonate. It’s fascinating how our tiny vocal cords can chop up the air at such a drastic speed that wavelengths are created. These wavelengths, in turn, become pitch, vowel sounds, voiced consonants, grunts, laughs, and other vocal sounds. Add to that the extremity of sung pitch and the length of sustained vocal phrases and something we all take for granted suddenly becomes miraculous. How do we do it? Well, you’ll have to take voice lessons to find out.

Intrigued? For more information, visit my website: http://www.marissabloom.com/voice_lessons.htm

My very own Bloom Studio: Where music grows!

Leave a Reply

