Be undefinable

It never ceases to amaze me how we love to define ourselves– organize ourselves into neat and tidy categories rife with stereotype and associations. Never is this more prevalent than during the small-talk that ensues when first meeting a large group of people. I can’t even count how many times I was asked those two pivotal questions during my freshman year at USC: “Where are you from” and “What is your major.” It is as if receiving the answers to these two questions told the person everything they needed to know about me. And yet, I am so much more than just a voice major from San Luis Obispo County (half-way between LA and San Francisco, for those who didn’t know SLO.) I am a florist, a singer, a teacher, a director, a yogi, a traveler, a friend, a daughter, a sister, a girlfriend, a niece, a cat-lover, a tree-hugger, a writer, a seamstress, a knitter, a Californian, an organization master-mind, a marketer, a dancer…… The list could go on for pages and pages, but I think you get the idea. So, why must we always seek these labels for ourselves when that connection almost always brings subsequent attributes which we either consciously or subconsciously seek to fulfill. Sometimes this identification can bring positive changes and goals to your life, but often times the reverse is true. Why pigeon-hole yourself into one interest, ideology, culture, profession, location, and connection? By breaking these firm-held notions of “who you are,” you may actually find yourself. Who I am is definitely a fluid concept right now and I am trying to embrace that as I meet all of my fellow participants and hear those questions again and again–“Where are you from?” and “What do you do?” Me? I’m from everywhere. I do everything. You?

20110731-014742.jpg

20110731-014758.jpg

One thought on “Be undefinable

Leave a Reply

