Early bird gets the worm

It is 5:30 in the morning and I am awake. During the course of my entire life thus far, I have only woken up that early to go to the airport. Ever. A night owl by nature, I’m lucky if I wake up by 8:30. However, here I am, dutifully awaking at 5:30 each morning to begin my daily practice. With sore muscles and sandpaper eyes, I pry myself out of the bunk bed in the room I share with 7 other girls. I zombie-walk my way around the building trying unconsciously to remember my books and supplies. But, once I get onto my yoga mat, it’s like I’ve eaten 5 power bars and had 10 shots of espresso. Slowly the postures unfold gaining in momentum, intensity, and difficulty, waking up my tired body and mind. They say the early bird gets the worm, and I guess that’s true. The early yogi also gets the flexibility. Part of this process is getting me out of my natural body and thought patterns and this wake up time is definitely doing just that. Good morning world, it’s me, Marissa!

20110810-061930.jpg
The daily sunrise

2 thoughts on “Early bird gets the worm

Leave a Reply

