I’m a new soul

Today was the most amazing day of my life. Words cannot express the joy and release that today brought me. My heart is full. My entire perspective on life adjusted as I was taught to look at the world and at myself differently. I let go of so much and I feel as if a huge burden has been lifted from my shoulders. After the beauty that was today’s practice, I wandered alone through the woods behind the yoga studio, found a grassy spot walled in by a rock quarry, did an impromptu headstand just because I got the urge to do so, and decided to belt out “Amazing Grace” amongst the trees and rocks: no thinking about vocal technique, no worrying about my tongue placement or the position of my vowels, no judgement of myself whatsoever. I don’t know how it sounded and, frankly, I don’t care. I sang because I wanted to. At that moment, being in the present, singing that song for myself acted as an emotional release. It was bliss. The evening wrapped up with a kirtan (chanting and singing Sanskrit) around a bonfire. As our voices mixed and mingled with smiles and laughs, I felt safe. I felt home. I felt happy. This is where I am supposed to be. This is where I am present. This is where I am.

20110813-111754.jpg

Leave a Reply

