It’s all in the attitude

“The only real stumbling block is fear of failure. In cooking you’ve got to have a “what-the-hell attitude.” -Julia Child

True in cooking. True in singing. True in life.

As I look toward the final performance of Bon Appetit by Lee Hoiby, I find myself not wanting to let go of this amazing character. I have studied, dreamed of, and mimicked Julia Child for the past 6 months and I’m just not quite ready to say goodbye. This woman was strong. This woman would not take no for an answer. This woman never stopped learning and growing. This woman was able to look ahead to major long-term goals and not get caught up in the tiny details. If only my gluten-free, vegan self could be a bit more like Julia…… Without the aspic, of course.

While Julia Child was nowhere near a Vegetarian, so much about her zest for life, one-pointed focus, and enjoyment of the present is in keeping with yogic tradition. She was a fascinating specimen of a human being, and not just for her height.

So, today in my dress rehearsal, when my brain clicked back to old thought patterns of anxiety, perfectionism, and, yes, even fear of failure, I thought of Julia. Would Julia care if I entered a beat late? Or changed a word? Or even forgot a phrase altogether? No. She’d tell me to pick the phrase up, dust it off on my apron, and continue on. For (insert Julia Child voice here) “who’s to know?”

Now on Saturday, when the concert begins, I’ll enjoy the process, forget about my fear of failure, and be surprised with whatever the result is. What the hell?

See Marissa perform Julia Child and other strong women at Delicate Strength: Women in Music, Saturday June 16th 7:30 PM at First Presbyterian Church in San Luis Obispo. Visit marissabloom.com for more information

20120614-010628.jpg

Leave a Reply

