Following the cairn path

Have you ever had that blissful feeling that comes when you know that where you are is exactly where you are supposed to be? Now, this is different than where you WANT to be or where your ego thinks you should be. For instance, I desperately WANT to be ready to sing for ALL the major competitions this fall, but I know that I am not ready for such a big step just yet. But, when you realize that you are on your life path, or your Dharma, as the yogis would say, you find peace. You realize that where you are, right now at this moment, is perfect. And that’s not to say that where you are is where you need to be for the rest of your days. Conversely, where you need to be is a very fluid concept, changing day to day, hour to hour. But, once you find that path, once you get into the groove, things start to fall into place. All things support you and reinforce that path.
This is one of those moments for me.
I made a plan 6 months ago that I was going to study voice intensely with Juliana Gondek and Rakefet Hak in Los Angeles for three weeks in August. After doing the math and calculating how much that would cost me, I went into fundraising mode: singing for local clubs, sending out letters, and putting on one of the most amazing, challenging, and fun one-woman shows of my life. With effort, toil, sweat, and tears, I pulled together the money I needed to make this happen. I’m not saying that being on your life path is easy. In fact, it’s much more difficult than sitting on your couch, watching TV and wondering when you’re life is going to start. But, if you make the effort, if you put yourself out there, you will find your path and the world will help you get there.
So, here we are. 6 months later and I’m almost halfway through my intensive training. Again, effort, toil, sweat, and tears are the name of the game (especially the last two) but I know that where I am and what I am doing is perfect for me… in this place…. at exactly this moment. I am putting in the work, changing my voice, and changing my mind. Yes, I’m still a work-in-progress and always will be. I may not make it to the summit of my upmost dreams this year, (and I’m about 99.9% sure I won’t) but I know I am working towards something. I know I am progressing. And I know that this is where I am meant to be. This is my Dharma. This is Marissa. It’s a beautiful thing to experience. So, I ask you, what’s your Dharma? What dream have you been hiding, fighting, and giving up on? It’s never too late to find that path. Just look for the cairn markers.

20120820-234300.jpg

Leave a Reply

