A new year, a new me

There is something about August; it has always signified a new year for me. Now, I know that January 1st is technically the new year, but I always saw August as the beginning of something new. It was the time for school shopping, getting a new wardrobe, taking huge life steps like moving to Los Angeles for my undergraduate years, and then moving to West Virginia for my master years. Later, August became the month of my major life-overhaul during my yoga teacher training. This year, it was my voice’s turn to be overhauled when I spent August in Los Angeles training to break into the opera world. I find it fascinating how we become caught up in these natural life cycles: a time to grow, a time to change, a time to return to your life renewed, stronger, more confident, and knowing more about yourself. That’s what August is for me. It’s the transition point, the bridge that carries me to some new facet of myself, my career, and my life. At this time last year, I was on a plane returning from my yoga teacher training with no money in my bank account, no jobs lined up, and no idea if I would sing again. I never dreamed that the year would bring me to teaching 9 yoga classes a week, returning and new voice students to my growing private vocal studio, and a new voice teacher in Los Angeles taking me in and giving me a second chance at a vocal career… not to mention the fact that I was able to raise the funds necessary to spend 3 weeks in LA doing major voice training. It’s amazing what the universe can bring us when we open our hearts and take the opportunities presented to us, when we can look our own selves deep in the eyes with tears of gratitude and joy at the people we have become and the obstacles we have overcome. Thank you for a beautiful 2011-2012 year. I can’t wait to see what this next year has in store for me…… I’m thinking there might be singing involved…. but I don’t know. Regardless, bring it on.

20120827-235651.jpg
It’s time for change…. can you see it on the horizon?

Leave a Reply

