If I had a million dollars…

Sometimes the best way to figure out what you are meant to do in this world is to ask yourself what you would do if you had a million dollars. If money was no option, how would you live your life? When I asked myself this question I came up with the following answers: I would start my own music school where the community could take lessons, put on productions, and house a small chamber opera company. If I had a million dollars, I would travel the world, working with the best teachers, coaches, and conductors to refine my voice. I would give myself at least a year free of work to practice my craft, audition, and perform without worrying about being able to pay rent or buy groceries. Lastly, if I had a million dollars, I would complete my 500 hour yoga certification and open a yoga studio in conjunction with the music school to teach yoga for performing artists.

Upon retrospect, even without the million dollars, I am working towards each of these goals on a daily basis. While it may take many more years of working and raising funds, I am doing what I love, making progress, and attempting to leave a positive mark on the world and the lives around me. It’s exhausting, it’s overwhelming at times, but when I can look at my life right now and realize that things wouldn’t be all that different, even if there were a million dollars in my bank account, then I must be doing something right. So, now the question you’ve all been waiting for: what would you do with a million dollars?

20140128-233202.jpg

6 thoughts on “If I had a million dollars…

  1. Awesome. I’d be happy to have you share my words with your class as long as you cite them to this blog. Thanks for your interest! If you have any specific questions, let me know.

Leave a Reply

