Solid as a Plank, Soft as a Feather

Four years ago, I began my yoga path in ernest. My vocal career had hit a wall; I completed my graduate degree and moved back to California with no job prospects and nowhere to live; I didn’t know what to do with my life. On January 1st, 2011, I was floundering and grasping for something to ground me and bring me back to life. I remembered finding solace in previous yoga classes during my undergrad career, so I sought out a local yoga studio in San Luis Obispo and found myself once again on the mat. I ended up coming back every day that week. The instructor that evening, Jeff Porter, ended up becoming my mentor through my yoga teacher training and throughout the beginning of my career. 6 months later, I attended a month-long immersion program with Frog Lotus Yoga. At that point, I had thrown in the towel and given up completely on the chance for an operatic career and I was searching for something to bring me joy. Over the course of that month, music returned to me in the form of Sanskrit chant and I found my voice once again. With my body and my mind now open and free, I remembered the simple joys that singing can bring. I went to my yoga training to create a career in teaching, and I found myself returning to performing once again.
Now, on a daily basis, when I find myself putting too much pressure on my voice and on my vocal career, I stop, take a breath, and connect back to my body.
I have a major performance coming up at the end of the month with one of the most difficult arias I have yet learned. In situations like this, the mounting worry and fear of making mistakes still takes its toll on my voice and my mindset, but I now have the tools to return to my center and unlock my voice. After taking days off for the holidays, I returned to practicing today and my voice just did not want to cooperate. As per usual, I began running through a basic yoga practice while singing and suddenly my voice returned to its energy and resonance. It’s amazing what can happen when you step outside of the box and do the unusual. Here is a clip of my yoga play while practicing Come Scoglio.

What will you do to step outside of the box today?

#bestrongin2015 challenge day 1: plank pose. 🎉🎊Happy New Year!!! ❤️ the singing yogi. May this new year bring new adventures, love, joy, and peace to each and every one of you!
/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6d8/14545902/files/2015/01/img_7727.jpg

Leave a Reply

