You can learn a lot of things from the flowers

A self-proclaimed black thumb, I tend to kill my houseplants with kindness. If a little water is good, then a lot of water is better. If a little bit of sun is good, then putting the plant up against the window would be even better. My mother, a florist by trade, gives me plants with the general warning of “don’t love it too much.” A few months ago, I bought yet another set of orchid plants in the hope that I could keep them alive–at least through the holidays. This time, I thought, things were going to be different. I always water too much…. Ok. Fine. I won’t water them. I always give them too much sun and heat…. Ok. Fine. I’ll leave them away from the windows in a shadowy spot. 3 months (and only a few tbsp. of water) later, the orchids are still miraculously alive, flowering, and well. Not a single flower has fallen off. I find myself humbled by these little houseplants. On a daily basis, nature will teach you lessons if you only open your eyes and pay attention.
When we focus too much and pour everything into one facet of our lives, the thing we are so focused on tends to slip through our fingers. That career you were holding tight to could simply vanish overnight. That relationship you left everything for could end in the blink of an eye. If you love something too much and smother it, it will wither and die. I have always said that the time I made the most vocal progress was the month I spent NOT singing during my yoga teacher training. Oftentimes, taking a step back from something we are hyper-focused on can change our perspective and understanding.
So, I owe a big debt of gratitude to my lovely orchid plants. Thank you for sticking around and teaching me so much about my life. I will try to keep from watering you.

#bestrongin2015 challenge day 5: Bakasana/crow pose.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/6d8/14545902/files/2015/01/img_7791.jpg

2 thoughts on “You can learn a lot of things from the flowers

Leave a Reply

