Phoenix

“Chaos often fosters the greatest creativity. Breakdowns often precede the greatest breakthroughs. And when the pain is greatest is often when we’re on the brink of the greatest realization… When the pain is burned through rather than numbed, when our darkness is brought to light and then forgiven, then and only then can we move on. And move on we do.” -Marianne Williamson.
When the world is spinning too quickly and my life is in chaos, I cling with all of my might to the teachings of Marianne Williamson. I let myself breakdown. I let myself fall. Then I let myself rise again like a phoenix from the ashes. Life is built of cycles, but if you never let those cycles occur, if you never let yourself move through the ups and downs, you just stand still–you stagnate. Sometimes you have to shake up the snow globe just to let things settle back into new places. So, when life knocks you down, revel in it. Celebrate the challenges and the pain; for only in understanding, dealing with, and living in the darkness can you truly move forward into the light.

Inversion are the physical example of this mental and emotional challenge. If you are never brave enough to let yourself fall, you will never be brave enough to turn your world upside down and find a new perspective. I’m an inversion baby in the grand scheme of things. As a child, I was never brave enough to do a cartwheel. To this day, I still don’t know how. I let my fear of falling and hurting myself stop me from joining my friends tumbling on the dewy grass. I was so sure that I was too heavy and too weak to put myself upside down. I let my perceptions of my body keep me from even trying. It took a full year of mental and physical work in my yoga practice to get myself into a supported headstand. It took another two years to get my legs away from the wall. I still combat mental demons each time I take my legs up in the air, not matter the type of inversion. I still have to convince myself that I am no longer the chubby bookworm who sits on the sidelines while others play. I will fall out. I will crash and burn. But I will get back up, try again, and grow stronger for doing so.
This is what my yoga practice teaches me daily… That and the fact that it’s ok to wear crazy, colorful socks out in public.

#bestrongin2015 challenge day 9: tripod headstand.

2015/01/img_7863.jpg

One thought on “Phoenix

  1. Jodi says:

    Proud of you girl. I always knew you had it in you to overcome any obstacle. If they knock us down we will rebuild and come back stronger. I love you so.

Leave a Reply

