Love’s Not Time’s Fool

“Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O no! It is an ever-fixèd mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come;
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.”
–William Shakespeare

When I first read this sonnet in my high school English class, it spoke to me on a deep level. The beauty and simplicity of the text, the clarity of the statement, and the idea that real love lasts forever and never changes–all of these things ingrained this sonnet into my memory. In this transitory world of short attention spans, the idea that something could be that steadfast brought a tear to my teenaged eye.

Every Valentine’s Day, I assist my mother at her flower shop, designing hundreds of arrangements and helping to send love to wives, girlfriends, children, grandparents, siblings, friends and loves. Often the cards enclosed with the flowers are short, sweet, and to the point. Some cards are beautifully written with heart-felt expressions of gratitude and appreciation. But, all of the cards have one thing in common: love. When I get upset about the state of the world, when I see the tragedy, the sadness, the hatred, and the pain, it helps to remember that we are all connected by one unfaltering law: love. So, on this beautiful day, celebrate all of the loves in your life and send a note, pick up the phone, or better yet, send a flower.
Happy Valentine’s Day
Thank you for the love.

IMG_8237 #letsgetflexyin2015 challenge day 13 and 14: Vashisthasana and King Pigeon.
Bloom’n’Grow Florist in Atascadero is my home away from home. I grew up here; I learned to tap dance at the shop entrance; I helped customers; I gained insight and imagination. The ladies working at the shop are my family and the customers are my friends. Each time I return to help out on holidays, I am reminded how much love there is in the world and how important showing and sharing that love is.

IMG_8238

Leave a Reply

