Seeing Stars

This evening, when I arrived home from a long, long, long day of teaching, practicing, singing, and planning, I struggled to pull my 4 bags out of the car, almost dropped my glass tea tumbler on the pavement, and stubbed my toe on the sidewalk. As I was hopping on one foot, trying not to lose the contents of my purse, and seeing tiny flecks of light as I breathed through the pain in my angry toe, I looked up for a split second and saw the stars. The unusually clear sky tonight allowed the brilliant sparkle of stars to shine down so strongly that I had to pause for a moment and stare in wonder. Suddenly, this simple reminder of the vastness of the universe made the little annoyances, the frustration, and the pain in my toe completely disappear. There was just me and the stars. All I could do was sit down on the sidewalk and give thanks for this little reminder that it is such miracle just to be alive. When I walked through my front door, I felt lighter, more peaceful, and my toe felt perfectly fine. The sky always makes everything better. 

For one minute today, walk outside, stand there in silence, look up at the sky, and contemplate how amazing life is. 

#letsgetflexyin2015 challenge day 28. Mission San Luis Obispo after dark. “Silence is the great teacher and to learn its lessons you must pay attention to it. There is no substitute for the creative inspiration, knowledge, and stability that come from knowing how to contact your core of inner silence.” -Deepak Chopra.

Visiting a sacred space after dark has such a strong potency. You can feel the history around you. You can almost see the footsteps of those who walked through the halls and knelt at the alters. The beauty and the silence of it all makes me feel an apparition myself. 

Leave a Reply

