Human Kindness

Today was a hard day. I honestly did not want to get out of bed this morning. I dragged myself out of the house to begin my long day of teaching and, in my race from place to place, I felt frantic and stressed. It was just one of those days… until I received a hefty dose of human kindness. 

Last summer I had the life-changing experience of performing Lee Hoiby’s Bon Appetit, an operatic rendition of Julia Child’s famed cooking show, with the Napa Music Festival. 

 There was something about embodying this character which helped me to harness the strong-willed, joyful, and bubbly side of my own personality. Julia’s persona was so powerful that it actually changed me. Julia Child never gave up. She kept her positivity and vivaciousness even when all the doors seemed closed in her face. She broke stereotypes, gender roles, records, and did it all with a beaming smile on her face. I was honored to play Julia Child this past summer. Plus, it was fun. So much fun. Honestly, it was one of the best performances of my life. I miss playing Julia so much; however, she still comes out of me every now and again… You can view the full video of Bon Appetit on my website marissabloom.com

Today my stress and anxiety was broken by a little reminder of Julia Child’s verve and vigor when Lesa Smith, owner of Whiz Kids Toys in San Luis Obispo, CA, sent me this adorable children’s book:The boss of one of my best friends, I know Lesa only as a kind acquaintance…and a facebook friend… and yet she felt so strongly that this was the book for me that she special-ordered it. I was astonished that she would care so much, that she thought well enough of me to send this: just because she knew of my love for Julia. As I tore through the wrapping paper, my eyes welled up as I was reminded that human kindness does, in fact, exist.

Sometimes it’s easy to forget that there are good people out there. We are bombarded by sadness, pain, and deceit in the media. We grapple with traffic and grumpy people in the supermarket. We fight with our own dark sides daily. Some days the bad screams louder than the good. But, we have to remember that a few bad apples do not ruin the barrel, even if they leave a bitter taste in your mouth. There are so many kind, selfless people out there who want to help and share their love just to contribute to others’ joy. So, thank you Lesa for being so sweet, reminding me of one of the happiest days of my life, and for rekindling my faith in humanity. It only takes a little act of kindness to start a chain reaction of peace and goodwill. How can you start that process today and pay it forward? Perhaps buy a stranger’s coffee. Stop and help someone who has a flat tire. Hand out flowers to people walking down the street. Offer smiles to everyone you meet. Or buy someone a children’s book. It only takes a moment to change someone’s day for the better. Will you take that moment?

 #journeytohandstand challenge day 8: pascimotonasana. Radiate love. ❤️

12 thoughts on “Human Kindness

  1. Reblogged this on Totally Inspired Mind… and commented:
    Julia Child wad one of my favorite and first cooking personalities that I watched on a black and white tube TV. I’m a food writer now and have several blogs and a cooking site I’ll share with you later.

    I loved your story here and yes you’re right, not only do good people exist but great people do too. I pray to meet only those people avoid the rest. I think my prayer was answered when I found your post here.

    Paulette Motzko

  2. I reblogged your wonderful story on totally inspired mind. I wrote something to you there before your blog post starts. Julia Child with one of my all time favorites in the first cooking personality I saw when I was a kid black and white TV. I would still like to talk to you and even meet you one day.
    I think we’re kindred spirits.

    Paulette L Motzko

    • This blog brought a tear to my eye. It’s a wonderful thing to try to achieve everyday. Pass on the kindness and the love out into the world. It’s also very heartwarming to get it back in return and especially when it’s most needed. I want to read the book now! The illustration on the cover looks just like you!!

Leave a Reply

