Attention 

“Attention energizes, and intention transforms. Whatever you put your attention on will grow stronger in your life. Whatever you take your attention away from will wither, disintegrate, and disappear.” ~ Deepak Chopra

For years, singing was a struggle. I felt the only way I could be successful was through pain, sweat, and a constant fight for the right to sing. I channeled all of my attention into the idea that singing was a challenge to be conquered. Because of that, singing was a challenge. Singing was exhausting, overwhelming, frustrating, and heart-breaking. The joy of singing was lost because I made it that way. I believed singing should tie me into knots, so it did. By striving to get to the top, I thought I had to suffer for my art, so I made myself suffer. 

As I began to incorporate mindfulness into my practice, I realized just how much my vocal issues were in my head. I slowly began to let go of the tension and pressure I put on myself. I released the idea that singing necessitates struggle and remembered that singing used to be a freeing experience. Singing used to be fun. Though it took years to release the layers of deepset tensions and adjust my idea of what singing is, my real voice began to slowly come through. As I focused my attention on letting go rather than holding on, joy returned to my voice. The difficulty, the fear, and the pain faded little by little as I breathed new life into my music. Changing my attention changed my voice, my body, my mind, and my life. I’m still a work in progress; but at least now I am enjoying the process. 

 #journeytohandstand challenge day 10: wrist stretch. After my long drive to Los Angeles for my voice lessons, it’s always a release to get out and do some roadside yoga. I find a patch of grass or sidewalk and rest my tired wrist, my aching hips, and my sore ankles. Finding my center and becoming grounded, I can once again find my voice and my reason to sing. It can be a weary life out on the road, but it’s also an exciting and eye-opening one. There is so much world around us, make sure you see a little of it. 

Leave a Reply

