If it was easy, everyone would do it

Life isn’t easy. It’s hard. It’s stressful. It can be overwhelming at times. And yet, it’s worth living. Every day is a chance to challenge yourself and move forward. Find goals that stretch your limits. Move away from the daily mundane and towards the seemingly impossible. 

Opera singing is much like the olympic sport of the music world. It takes every ounce of concentration and muscular coordination. It takes great physical strength and never-ending intensive training. It requires an unwavering dedication to the craft. A singer never truly has a day off. If we aren’t practicing, we are taking care of our voices, keeping ourselves physically and vocally healthy, memorizing repertoire while washing dishes, thinking through our characters during our daily commutes, searching for and compiling audition materials in our few hours of free time, and listening to lesson recordings whenever we have a silent moment. Singing requires a tireless determination to constantly better yourself. It’s not easy. It’s not for everyone. But it’s the challenging route I have decided to embark on. It feeds my soul, my creativity, and my need to move towards the impossible. 

Daily, we have the option to settle into the comfortable or to move outside of our comfort zone. We have the ability to stay stagnant or to expand our horizons. We have the chance to sit on our laurels or to make something of our time on this earth. Make sure you choose the right path. 

   #journeytohandstand challenge day 11: handstand variation. Before my voice lesson, I use my teacher’s little front patio to reawaken my core, reset my shoulders, and settle my mind. It’s amazing the difference a quick handstand can make in my ability to be mindful, make fast adjustments, and sing with my whole body and soul. 

Leave a Reply

