Lose yourself in the music

This evening I took a break from my yoga pants to live my alter ego life as an opera singer. My performance with the Lompoc Pops Orchestra was a test of sustained focus and energy as I poured my heart out in song rather than in physical asanas. It’s such a gift to sing with so many instrumentalists backing me up and providing the power my big spinto soprano voice craves. The energy on stage is electric and you can really lose track of the voice being a part of you and feel it as a separate entity. I am no longer a singer; I am simply the humble vessel: an instrument much like the violins, horns, and cellos behind me. You can lose yourself in the music… and how I do enjoy getting lost.  

 You can take the girl out of the yoga pants, but you can never take the yoga out of the girl.  

Leave a Reply

