Aim True 

 An arrow can only be shot by pulling it backward. When life is dragging you back with difficulties, it means it’s going to launch you into something great. So just focus and keep aiming.   #detoxyobody challenge day 14: shoulder stand. This was one of the first poses I ever learned. My yoga teacher at Liberation Yoga in Los Angeles started off class with shoulder stand in an attempt to calm the mind, reverse blood flow, and get us grounded. Fumbling about, my elbows sprawled out to the sides, my legs barely off the floor, I struggled to even lift my butt off the ground. The teacher came over to me, put her hands on my ankles, and helped pull me up. Suddenly, I found my core, my shoulders settled down, and my body began to invert. My feet lifted over my head for the first time ever and it was an exhilarating feeling. From that moment, I was hooked. While I have moved far past shoulder stand into more challenging inversions, returning to shoulder stand is like coming home. This pose is a reminder of that scared, tense, and weak little college student who only wanted a bit of peace from the constant stress of her undergraduate vocal arts program. Even on my hardest days, shoulder stand is still there for me: a healthy reminder of where I’ve been and where I’m going.

  

Leave a Reply

