Release the Yoke

Lately I’ve been feeling weighed down by life. Injury, sickness, guilt, stress: they’ve all culminated to create a yoke of tension pulling continuously on my shoulders. I feel my body buckling under the pressure, closing off my heart and building walls against the surrounding world. Suddenly, my emotions run rampant and I feel lost. I no longer find pleasure in the simple things. My mind whirls out of control and I can’t slow down the incessant chatter and back talk. 

When I feel the return of the shoulder hunch, when my body starts to cave to the point where I cannot spread my wings to fly, I head into my yoga studio and open back up.  I pour my back over a yoga block. I place my feet into my hands and give a nice tug. I start to let the world back in. With each backbend, the weight slowly drifts off my shoulders. With each heart opener, I feel the yoke fading away. 

We all have those moments of darkness where the weight seems unbearable. But let it go. Release the yoke and move on. 

 #MayIBeginYoga2015 challenge day 20: dhanurasana/bow pose. “Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.” Ella Fitzgerald. 

One thought on “Release the Yoke

Leave a Reply

