Dream the Impossible Dream

This evening, at one of the Napa Music Festival’s faculty concerts, the world-renown baritone Richard Zeller performed “Dream the Impossible Dream” from Man of La Mancha and dedicated the piece to all of the artists in the house who were working tirelessly to hone their craft, become something more than themselves, and dream that impossible dream. 

This festival has been an intensive process. Between rehearsals, lessons, coachings, stagings, and concerts, we tend to become so overwhelmed that we forget why we are here in the first place. We become so wrapped up in the small details that we lose track of the big picture and our passion for this art form. I’ve said it many times before and I’ll probably say it many times more: singing is simultaneously the the most challenging and the most rewarding thing in my life. I believe the challenge actually makes it the most rewarding. I have to struggle. I have to apply myself. I have to give 100% all the time and even that is often not enough. Yes, it is exhausting (and expensive) but it is such an important part of my being that I couldn’t picture my life without music. For, without music, a part of my soul would be missing. Thank you Richard for reminding us this evening that we need to keep reaching towards those unreachable star so that our hearts will be peaceful and calm when we are laid to rest. Your words resounded with so many of us out in the audience… the moist eyes proved that. 

“To dream the impossible dream/ To fight the unbeatable foe/ To bear with unbearable sorrow/ To run where the brave dare not go/ To right the unrightable wrong/ To love pure and chaste from afar/ To try when your arms are too weary/ To reach the unreachable star/ This is my quest/ To follow that star/ No matter how hopeless/ No matter how far/ To fight for the right/ Without question or pause/ To be willing to march into Hell/ For a heavenly cause/ And I know if I’ll only be true /To this glorious quest/ That my heart will lie peaceful and calm/ When I’m laid to my rest/ And the world will be better for this/ That one man, scorned and covered with scars/ Still strove with his last ounce of courage/To reach the unreachable star”

  

#backtobackbends challenge day 6: prasarita padhatonasana. “Yoga is the journey of the self, through the self, to the self.” -Bhagavad Gita.

Leave a Reply

