Passionately Curious

“I have no special talent. I am only passionately curious.” -Albert Einstein

Today was a high-tension day at the Napa Music Festival. With two operas now in tech rehearsals, opera scenes and monodramas opening tomorrow, and our final aria concerts just around the corner, the tension and pressure is becoming oppressive. It is in these moments of flighty panic that I turn inward and strive to do my best and enjoy the process rather than focusing solely on the end result. The performances will pass, the accolades (and critiques) will fade, but the training and skills I learn along the way will follow me throughout the remainder of my vocal career and will seep into the rest of my life. During these flitting moments of anxiety, when I am feeling devoid of talent and creativity, I must remind myself to stay passionately curious in this wonderful (and sometimes overwhelming) world of music. As Hippocrates stated “the life so short; the craft so long to learn.” While, yes, we will never learn it all and we will never be perfect singers, the inner drive and hunger for knowledge can keep us going through the worst of times. Through all the missed entrances, flubbed lines, breaks in character, and imperfect technique, we are learning and striving for something greater than what we are now. Perhaps Einstein had it wrong… maybe our passionate curiosity IS our special talent… So, here’s to all who are passionately curious out there. Stay inquisitive lovelies. 
  
#backtobackbends challenge day 7: straddle splits. 

Leave a Reply

