Cherry Trees 

“Down south where they grow cherry trees, they slash the trunks of the trees so they have to gather energy from a deeper well to draw more fruit. Don’t shun the tragedy in your life for that suffering bears more fruit.” -Elizabeth Vrenios 

These past few months have been full of pain, suffering, and tragedy. As I’m slowly pulling myself out of the mist and putting my life back together, I recall this quote from my favorite vocal coach/ director/ philosopher. I think singers and yogis alike need this reminder every now and then. Lean into the suffering, endure it–it is life; but then come out the other side stronger, more empathetic, and more grateful than ever before. 

 Pascimottanasana/forward fold

Leave a Reply

