Wake Up! 

“Opera is a phenomenally difficult sport.” -Regina Resnik

Singing requires complete focus and intensive energy. You have to be completely on your game for every rehearsal, practice session, and performance. Sometimes, though, my body just doesn’t support my voice. On those days when I’m feeling lethargic, broken down, and weak, I pull out my furniture gliders, step up on them, and start to float into plank.  

 
Any basic furniture gliders will work, but I like the larger, longer version so that my feet don’t slide off. My favorite thing about this core work is that it activates the complete 360degrees around the midsection. This will definitely wake up the body and get it to support my voice once again. 

So, work it out and wake it up! It’s time to get your body behind your voice.

 #springtideopenwide challenge day 9: #elephantpose “Man, sometimes it takes you a long time to sound like yourself.” -Miles Davis

As I slowly return to full-strength vocally and physically, I find myself encountering the same fears, doubts, and frustrations. My practice time becomes cluttered by negative self-talk telling me I should be achieving more, applying for more, and performing more. But, what would happen if I let all that go and just enjoy the fact that I am finding my voice? Perhaps I would recognize that, for the first time, I am sounding like myself. And that is worth more than all the money and fame in the world. (Although money and fame would still be nice.) 😉

 

Leave a Reply

