Mosaic 

  “She never seemed shattered to me. She was a breathtaking mosaic of the battles she’s won.” -Mark Baker  

This quote has carried me through the nightmare that has been this past year. A series of misfortunes moving between injury, illness, a more serious and debilitating re-injury, and back to illness again has left me feeling broken and raw. Unable to struggle through my usual active yoga practice and kept from letting my emotions out in song, I felt shattered. I truly believe that the difficulties I faced this past year were an outward manifestation of major emotional and psychological challenges I have been going through. I suppose this physical pain was necessary to force me to deal with what was going on inside; but it still left me feeling that I had lost myself. When I looked in a mirror, I didn’t recognize the girl looking back at me. During those dark times, this quote reminded me that I was not shattered. I was not broken. I was a mosaic of the battles I had won. There is beauty in the strength of overcoming one’s own limitations and psychological hurdles, even when it requires living a year of pain. Now, when I look in the mirror, I see the face of a warrior–tired from the fight, but victorious all the same.  

3 thoughts on “Mosaic 

  1. Nancy Koren says:

    Dear Marissa,

    Sorry for your extra challenges happening this past year when it sounds like it has been difficult for you to keep blooming.

    I’ve had my issues too, but not recently and I am turning 77 soon!

    Hang in there, ~~~~Nancy Koren

  2. I love this so much and i can relate on many, many levels!  You are amazing and inspiring!  Happy Cooking!

    Jaime Umphenour Independent Sales Director The Pampered Chef 805-462-1022 pamperedjaime@yahoo.com Order online, anytime! http://www.pamperedchef.biz/pamperedjaime http://www.homeecexpress.com Facilitator of Central Coast Lupus & Auto-immune Disease Support Group

    From: Aint Over Until the Thin Lady Sings To: pamperedjaime@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, April 8, 2016 11:51 AM Subject: [New post] Mosaic  #yiv2206808715 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2206808715 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2206808715 a.yiv2206808715primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2206808715 a.yiv2206808715primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2206808715 a.yiv2206808715primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2206808715 a.yiv2206808715primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2206808715 WordPress.com | marissabloom posted: ”  “She never seemed shattered to me. She was a breathtaking mosaic of the battles she’s won.” -Mark Baker  This quote has carried me through the nightmare that has been this past year. A series of misfortunes moving between injury, illnes” | |

  3. I was so focus on my vocal growth and you were so cheerful, it never crossed my mind that you were experiencing struggles. I have always left my voice instruction lessons with you feeling challenged and encouraged. I’m excited about my growth as a vocalist. You were the one that introduced me to this discipline and it opened up a whole new world to me. You have been a far better friend to me than I have ever been to you. I will always be in your debt.

    Frank

Leave a Reply

