People Are Inherently Good 

The events of the past few weeks have left me shaken and saddened. It seems like every time I catch a glimpse of the news or check social media my breath is taken away by a new tragedy. It has become so difficult to handle that all I want to do is curl up in my bed and hide from the world. 

But today I got out of bed, put on my running shoes, and went out into the world. As I ran around my little neighborhood I was struck by the fact that everyone I passed stopped what they were doing to give me a wave and a smile. People driving by, watering their lawns, tending their gardens, playing games on their front porches, riding their bikes, taking out their garbage… they all took a moment to acknowledge my existence. It’s a small gesture, and yet, with each new smile and wave my faith in humanity was slowly restored and pieces of my heart were put back together. I began to realize that people are inherently good, decent, and kind. Though the news and social media may lead us to believe otherwise, there is more good out there in the world than bad. The problem is that goodness whispers while evil screams. So maybe it is time for us to speak up a little louder, love a little more, and spread joy instead of fear. Sometimes all it takes is a smile and a wave to change someone’s day and create a ripple affect across the globe. So consider this post a challenge to pass on the love. Share some kindness and you can change the world. 

2 thoughts on “People Are Inherently Good 

  1. Victoria S Johnsen says:

    Marissa, I was fortunate enough to spend some time with you @ ” Yoga For Performers Workshop” presented by Lacey & Danielle last Saturday. Just wish I could remember all the marvelous stretches and breathing exercises you showed us. I managed to share what I could remember with Danna, my trainer, and she was very interested. Please let me know if you are doing any more workshops in the future and I’ll try to get her to come with me. My best, Vicky

    • Victoria,
      Thank you so much for finding me out there in the ether. I’m so glad that the work we did on Saturday resonated with you. I hope to hold more workshops in the future so please keep in touch and I’ll keep you informed. I’d love to have your instructor attend. One day I hope to write a book or create a series of DVDs…. But that’s a long term goal.
      Feel free to find me on Facebook under “Marissa Bloom, Soprano” or on Instagram at Yoga_For_Singers
      I often post events to those two.
      Thank you!
      -Marissa

Leave a Reply

