18 till I’m 30

I’m grateful to be turning 30 because I finally realize the power that music has over us all. It’s ability to act as a therapist when we need a good cry or to pick us up when we are feeling down is profound. The music in my yoga classes completely set the energy for the whole class, whether it is a calm, restorative class or a rocking cardio workout. When I’m working with my voice students and they seem to be fatigued and unfocused, a change of tempo completely alters the mood of the lesson. It’s amazing what a song can do.

Music has helped me get through some difficult times in my life. This past year was probably my hardest year to date. I went through major emotional and physical turmoil; yet, through it all, one song gave me solace. I would play “She Used to Be Mine” by Sara Bareilles on constant repeat for months at a time, belting along while I choked back tears. The words of this broken woman fighting to regain control of her life spoke to me at a time when I needed it the most. She made it through the trying times in her life, so I knew I would too. And, I did. I even learned about myself in the process. 

Today, I enjoyed recording a cover of this piece to pay tribute to a song which was my becon of light in the darkness. 

 Listen to She Used to be Mine as sung by Marissa Bloom. 

  Doing a little yoga while I record makes such a difference in my tone and emotive qualities…. plus it’s fun. 

Leave a Reply

