17 till I’m 30

I’m not one for sappy, lovey-dovey posts: but, I would not be honest about the 30 reasons I am grateful to be turning 30 if I didn’t include my man, Brighton. So, here goes with the cheesy sap-fest. You have been warned. ☺️

I love this guy and I have for 6 years now. He gives me my space and my independence but he is always there for me when I need him. He gave me time to learn to trust again and overcome emotional trauma from childhood abuse. He made me stop saying “I’m sorry” for things I don’t have control over. He helped me repair my fragile self-esteem. He loves the parts of my personality which I used to hide from the world. 

He lets me pursue my dreams but reminds me that downtime and fun are important. He helps me to grow as a human being without ever trying to change me. He is my rock, my best friend, my yoga buddy, and my favorite travel companion. Everything is more fun when Brighton is around. 

He and I have been through some ups and downs during our 6 years together. These have been some of the most life-altering, emotional-rollercoaster, and painful years of my life; and yet, Brighton was always there by my side, cheering me on, sticking with me through family drama, offering advice, bringing cookies, and sometimes just letting me be with my thoughts to work things out. He is always there with a smile, a hug, and a giggle whenever I need cheering up. 

 He’s not perfect. I’m not perfect. We’re not perfect. But we’re perfect for eachother. One of my favorite quotes from a Johnny Starlings song is “not entertwined, we’ve grown side by side.” I definitely think this represents Brighton and I. Both of us have changed drastically over these past 6 years; but, we have always grown together. We don’t complete eachother, but we help make eachother better. 

I love you Brighton. 

One thought on “17 till I’m 30

  1. nancy koren says:

    Your 77 year old friend (ME) has so much that I could say. Like I said, near the end of age 29 I made big changes in my life. Besides leaving my 1st husband, I married my second. We had a child when I was 37 and a second one when I was 40! Both are Great men! For various reasons, my second husband and I got a divorce when I was 48, but we are still friends! I married my third husband when I was in my early 50’s, but divorced after 3 years! We are also still friends. I married my 4th husband when I was 58 and now we are about to celebrate 19 years together!!

Leave a Reply

