9 till im 30

Today I am grateful that, at the end of a long day, I don’t have to come home to homework. I get to make dinner, prep for the next day of work, do a little yoga, and go to bed. I don’t need to stay up all night worrying about pop quizzes and exams after 12 hours of classes, work, and rehearsals like I used to. After 24 years of schoolwork, I am so happy to be done with the phase of my life where I had to write essays, take tests, and cram knowledge into my brain. Now, when I do research, it is on my terms. I decide what I want to learn and I study for pleasure and self-improvement rather than to get a good grade. That choice is so freeing. It’s good to be heading into my 30s and not have to be that overachieving school girl any longer.  Reading for pleasure is so much better than reading for homework. 

Leave a Reply

